Main content

Latest Videos

The boys hit the track

3:27pm  Jan 15, 2018

Anyone for tennis...?

5:13pm  Jan 11, 2018

Best of '17 | DoTW Launch

6:00am  Jan 10, 2018

Jamieson cracks state squad

May 17, 2017 5:41 PM


Footscray midfielder Nick Jamieson has been included in the 27-man state training squad ahead of the May 27 clash between the VFL and the WAFL at North Port Oval.

Teammate Lachlan Dalgleish was named in the initial squad of 42 but didn’t make the final cut, although the promising youngster Andrew Tashevski-Beckwith was selected as part of a development squad featuring a host of up-and-coming talent from VFL ranks.

A member of the 2016 VFL premiership team, Jamieson has become a key member of the Bulldogs push for a third flag in four seasons since arriving at the VU Whitten Oval four seasons ago.

Jamieson was Footscray’s leading goal kicker last season and has spent more time in the midfield under new coach Steve Grace, picking up 30 touches in last weekend’s loss to Port Melbourne.

“He’s spent more time as an inside midfielder for us in recent weeks,” Grace told the Maribyrnong Leader.

“We all know his ability to cover the ground at high intensity is a real feature and standout at VFL level. I think his running ability would stack up at AFL level.

“So we really want to make sure we challenge him and grow his game and part of that is his inside and contested stuff.”

The 25-year old Jamieson was recruited from VAFA club Old Scotch and will play his 47th game this weekend against Geelong.

The state game will be broadcast live on Channel 7 from 2pm on Saturday, May 27. 

See the 27-player VFL training squad below: 

Andrew Moore

Box Hill Hawks

Sam Switkowski

Box Hill Hawks

Bayley Fritsch 

Casey Demons

Tom Goodwin

Coburg Lions

Jordan Kelly


Alex Boyse


James Ferry


Nick Hind


Nick Jamieson


Tom Atkins


Andrew Hooper

North Ballarat

Nick Rippon

North Ballarat

Cam O’Shea

Northern Blues

Tom Wilson

Northern Blues

Brody Mihocek

Port Melbourne

Brodie Murdoch

Port Melbourne

Eli Templeton

Port Melbourne

Jordan Lisle

Port Melbourne

Khan Haretuku

Port Melbourne

Tom O’Sullivan

Port Melbourne

Sam Darley


Matt Hanson

Werribee Tigers

Michael Sodomaco

Werribee Tigers

Brett Bewley


Josh Newman


Leigh Masters


Michael Gibbons