Main content
Western Bulldogs Header Branding

Pearce to fly West

Match Preview with Steven King (Rd21) Assistant Coach Steven King previews the Western Bulldogs' round 21 match against the West Coast Eagles at Domain Stadium.
Daniel Pearce in action during the Western Bulldogs training session at Whitten Oval, Melbourne on April 14, 2015. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Daniel Pearce will play his first senior game of 2015.

The Western Bulldogs have confirmed Daniel Pearce will play his first senior game of 2015, after being named in the final team to play West Coast on Sunday.

Pearce was elevated off the rookie list last week and is set to play his first AFL match since 2012.

OPPOSITION: An in-depth look at how the Eagles will line up.

Bulldogs assistant coach Steven King said on Thursday that Pearce had impressed with his versatility and approach.

“He’s been impressing everyone with his attack on the ball, his aggression and just his ability to play multiple positions, at VFL level he’s played back, forward and midfield so just gives us a bit more flexibility.”

Pearce joins Roarke Smith, who will make his AFL debut, and Jason Johannisen who returns from injury as the inclusions into the side.

Matthew Boyd (general soreness), Liam Picken (back) and Sam Darley (omitted) won’t make the trip to Perth, while Tom Boyd, Bailey Dale and Brett Goodes will be emergencies for the round 21 match.

ROUND 21 – West Coast Eagles v Western Bulldogs
Sunday 23 August 2015, 4:40pm
Venue: Domain Stadium

CLICK HERE to view the West Coast Eagles side for Sunday's clash at Domain Stadium.

Full back D Morris M Talia J Johannisen
Half back R Murphy J Hamling E Wood
Centreline L Jong J Macrae S Biggs
Half forward L Dahlhaus T Dickson S Crameri
Full forward L Hunter J Redpath J Stringer
Followers T Campbell M Wallis M Bontempelli
Interchange J Grant D Pearce C Daniel
  R Smith    
Emergencies T Boyd B Dale B Goodes

In: J Johannisen, D Pearce, R Smith

Out: M Boyd (general soreness), L Picken (back), S Darley (omitted)

New: R Smith (Calder Cannons - TAC Cup)