Main content
Western Bulldogs Header Branding

Four Bulldogs taste VFLW premiership success

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 24: Darebin players celebrate a win during the 2017 VFL Womens Grand Final between Diamond Creek and Darebin at Etihad Stadium on September 24, 2017 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Rob Prezioso/AFL Media)

Four Western Bulldogs AFLW players were members of the Darebin Falcons team which recorded their fifth consecutive premiership on Sunday in the VFL Women’s Grand Final at Etihad Stadium.

Nicole Callinan, Libby Birch, Katie Brennan and Aasta O’Connor were members of the Falcons team which secured a seven-point victory against rivals Diamond Creek.

Brennan kicked two goals, her first just ahead of quarter-time providing Darebin with an 11-point lead at the first change as Diamond Creek was restricted to two behinds for the first half.


That lead was stretched to 20-points but the Creekers threatened to pull off a come-from-behind win in the final term before the Falcons steadied to seal a 5.5 (35) to 4.4 (28) win.

DIAMOND CREEK      0.2      0.2      2.2      4.4 (28)

DAREBIN                2.1     2.3     4.4     5.5 (35)


Diamond Creek: Abbatangelo 2, Molloy, Loynes

Darebin: Brennan 2, McDonald, Marinoff, D.Pearce