Main content
Western Bulldogs Header Branding

Legends elevated; five inducted into Hall of Fame

Legend | Grant elevated among greats Drafted from Daylesford at the bargain pick of 105 in the 1988 national draft, Chris Grant went on to forge an incredible career. He played a then Club record 341 games, kicked 554 goals in 18 seasons, captained the Club between 2001-04 and polled 112 Brownlow votes.

The Western Bulldogs have elevated three players to Legend status, and added a further five to the Hall of Fame at the Club’s Season Launch at The Plenary on Tuesday.

Chris Grant, Norm Ware and Allan Hopkins now join Charlie Sutton, Ted Whitten who were honoured in 2010 at the establishment of the Club’s Hall of Fame, as well as John Schultz (2012) and Doug Hawkins (2014).

Footscray – Western Bulldogs Hall of Fame Legends

The Dogs also inducted former players Don Ross, Peter Box, Bernie Quinlan and Steve Wallis into the Hall of Fame, as well as former president David Smorgon.

Smorgon is only the fourth Club official to gain entry into the Hall of Fame, alongside current president Peter Gordon, the ‘Prince of Secretaries’, Roy Russell, who served the Club between 1941 and 1955 and James Cuming (Pioneer).  

Footscray – Western Bulldogs Hall of Fame

The Footscray-Western Bulldogs Hall of Fame was established to honour those whose involvement and contribution to the club has been significant, memorable and worthy of celebration.

Class of '18 | View The Biographies of the latest crop Footscray-Western Bulldogs Hall of Fame inductees.

Hall of Fame
Don Ross
Peter Box
Bernie Quinlan
Steve Wallis
David Smorgon

Chris Grant
Norm Ware
Allan Hopkins