Two Western Bulldogs Community Foundation board members have enjoyed success in the 2022 Victoria Australian of the Year awards.

Foundation Chair and Deputy Chancellor of Victoria University, Gaye Hamilton, was named the Victoria Senior Australian of the Year, while Ahmed Hassan, co-founder and executive director of Youth Activating Youth, has claimed the Victoria Young Australian of the Year award.

Both were one of four nominees in their respective categories, and announced as overall winners at last night’s formalities.

In her role as Chair of the Community Foundation, Hamilton supported and guided the transition of programs to online delivery modes as the state underwent extended lockdowns.

At just 18 years old, Hassan co-founded Youth Activating Youth in 2014 - a non-for-profit organisation which offers support to marginalised and disadvantaged youth from multicultural backgrounds.

In other awards, Paralympian and philanthropist Dylan Alcott OAM was named the Victoria Australian of the Year, while Mallacoota SES volunteer Leo op den Brouw was recognised as the Victoria Local Hero.

Hamilton and Hassan will now join the other state and territory recipients as finalists for the national awards announcement on January 25 next year.