Footscray captain Lachie Sullivan has capped off his brilliant 2023 campaign by claiming the rebel Coaches’ MVP award at Monday night’s VFL awards ceremony.

Sullivan finished with 102 votes – 10 votes ahead of second place and 2022 winner Jacob Dawson from Southport.

The 25-year-old averaged 31 touches, 5.9 tackles, 7.6 clearances and 4.4 inside 50s from his campaign.


It marked one of two accolades the skipper collected on the night, after being named captain in the Smithy’s VFL Team of the Year.

Sullivan also finished equal-third in the JJ Liston Trophy count, just five votes behind overall winner Jarryd Lyons from Brisbane (26 votes).

The Bulldogs enjoyed an 11-game winning streak which catapulted them into the top six and finals qualification, going as far as the semi-finals this season.

The 2023 Club Best and Fairest winner will be announced at next month’s Charles Sutton Medal. Sullivan is the reigning Club Champion.