Developing midfielder Ellie Gavalas has been awarded the Club’s 2019 VFLW Best and Fairest award at the Charles Sutton Medal event at Crown Palladium. 

The 23-year-old ended the season with 88 votes, capping off an outstanding debut VFLW season, where she also received a place in AFL Victoria’s VFLW Team of the Year. 

Gavalas finished 14 votes ahead of Nicole McMahon (74 votes), taking the lead in Round 10 and holding on for the remaining six matches of the 2019 season.

Western Bulldogs AFLW defender Bailey Hunt rounded out the top three with 66 votes from 13 matches.

Bulldogs’ captain Mickayla Ward, who led her side to a Grand Final appearance in 2019, received the Coaches Award alongside first-year Bulldog Louise Bibby. 

Western Bulldogs VFLW Best and Fairest Top 10:

Ellie Gavalas (88 votes)
Nicole McMahon (74)
Bailey Hunt (66)
Emma Mackay (65)
Kirsten McLeod (65)
Tayla Dinuccio (59)
Sarah Jolly (56)
Jessie Davies (54)
Kirsty Lamb (53)
Katelyn Betts (51)
Mary Sandral (51)