The Western Bulldogs VFLW side will kick off their 2019 campaign, this Saturday night against Williamstown at Downer Oval.

With many new faces arriving at the Club, the Bulldogs are looking to build on their inaugural 2018 season, while developing the team’s new players.

Western Bulldogs VFLW coach Sean Kavanaugh said that the team’s new-look list includes some exciting local talent, alongside many of the Club’s AFLW players.

“We’ve had a pretty major turnover of players and a fantastic injection of new players onto our list,” Kavanagh said.

“We’re looking at players who have come out of the VAFA league, we’ve got some exciting talent coming out of Marcellin and the Eastern Football League as well.

“Katelyn Betts is a real excitement machine. She’ll play as a midfielder; she has explosive pace and her skills are incredible. Having her working in combination with our AFLW players in the midfield and with Ellie (Gavalas), leading up to Jess (Crundell) as a deep forward, I think we’ll see some exciting passages of play.”

Former VU Western Spurs player Mickayla Ward was named captain of the VFLW side at the Club’s season launch earlier this week.

“Mickayla had an interrupted pre-season but her leadership and her willingness to work on her rehab was outstanding,” Kavanagh said.

“She really shone within the group, her natural leadership ability and her experience with the program meant that the girls really looked up to her. She was an obvious choice as our captain.”

2019 coach: Sean Kavanagh

2019 leadership group: Mickayla Ward (captain), Tayla Dinuccio (vice-captain), Ashleigh Gunn.

2018 finish: 6th (7-7 record)

2018 best and fairest: 1. Naomi Ferres / 2. Ashleigh Guest / 3. Libby Birch

2019 Western Bulldogs VFLW list:

Brooke Lochland

Ellie Blackburn

Isabel Huntington

Kirsten McLeod

Deanna Berry

Bonnie Toogood

Eleanor Brown

Nicole Callinan

Lauren Spark

Celine Moody

Ellyse Gamble

Naomi Ferres

Hayley Wildes

Ashleigh Guest

Bailey Hunt

Hannah Scott

Kim Rennie

Kirsty Lamb

Jessie Davies

Amanda Tessari

Ashleigh Gunn

Tayla Dinuccio

Sarah Jolly

Emma Mackay

Simone Ruedin

Ange Gogos

Mikayla Haddow

Jessica Crundell

Mary Sandral

Kate Tull

Annabel Scott

Lauren Dundon

Ellie Gavalas

Mickayla Ward

Vaomua Laloifi

Nicole McMahon

Katelyn Betts

Louise Bibby

Courtney Mullins

Riley Christgoergl

Megan Chadwick

Annaleise Xanthos

Julia Austin

Isabella Grant