Western Bulldogs star trio Marcus Bontempelli, Jack Macrae and Caleb Daniel are the Club’s nominated players for the AFLPA’s 2020 MVP Award.

The prestigious Leigh Matthews Trophy is a peer-voted honour first awarded in 1982, which recognises the players’ player for the season.

Bontempelli was crowned the AFLPA’s Best First Year Player in his debut season, and has also been nominated for the Best Captain Award in 2020.

Hayden Crozier is the Bulldogs’ nomination for the Most Courageous Award, while Cody Weightman has been nominated for Best First Year Player.

Three awards – Most Courageous, Best Captain and Best First Year – will be announced in line with the unveiling of the 22Under22 team on September 22, while the MVP Award will be announced on September 24.

The nomination for the MVP Award is a two-stage process.  The first stage involves players nominating three teammates for the award, before three nominees from each club are presented to the wider playing group for a vote to decide the winner. 

Players cannot vote for their own teammates in stage two of the process.