Western Bulldogs skipper Marcus Bontempelli is the “silkiest player in the game”, according to Essendon great Matthew Lloyd.

Ranking Bontempelli at number eight in his top 20 players of the season, Lloyd described the first-year captain as special.

“Shaun Burgoyne has the nickname ‘Silk’, but Marcus is the silkiest player in the game for me,” Lloyd told afl.com.au. 

“(Marcus’ game) is beautiful to watch – watching him glide across the field the way he does in space - but what makes him special is how tough he is around the contest.

03:03 Mins
Published on

Bont discusses first year as captain

Marcus Bontempelli speaks to AFL.com.au about his first year as captain, while his teammates reflect on what makes him an outstanding leader.

Published on

“I’m not sure when he was first drafted if anyone else outside the Bulldogs would’ve known how tough he can be on the inside, but then how silky he is on the outside.

“Just someone that big and powerful, but that good at ground level – he’s a very special player.”

Lloyd also touched on Bontempelli’s innate leadership qualities, and how critical he was to the Bulldogs’ late run of form.

“I thought that goal against the West Coast Eagles (in Round 16) was significant in terms of the fortunes of the Western Bulldogs’ season,” Lloyd said of Bontempelli’s 55m long-bomb to put his side in front during the dying minutes.

“It was touch and go, how they were going to go in that period of time, but their form really improved and catapulted after that.

“He has it all – leadership qualities are written all over him and that’s why he’s the captain of the club.

“(To have) someone that big and powerful, but that good at ground level – he’s a very special player.”

2020 Charles Sutton Medallist Caleb Daniel also came in at number 11 on Lloyd’s list, while ball-magnet Jack Macrae was ranked number 20.

Matthew Lloyd’s Top 20 players of the 2020 season:

  1. Tom Hawkins
  2. Lachie Neale
  3. Christian Petracca
  4. Travis Boak
  5. Nic Naitanui
  6. Jack Steele
  7. Taylor Adams
  9. Darcy Moore
  10. Harris Andrews
  12. Dustin Martin
  13. Steven May
  14. Patrick Dangerfield
  15. Jacob Weitering
  16. Jarryd Lyons
  17. Cam Guthrie
  18. Charlie Dixon
  19. Lachie Whitfield