Filter Matches
Catchup on all the latest action from ${round}!
Watch every match live and on-demand...

No Ladder Available

There is currently no ladder available

Official AFL Premiership Ladder AFL Premiership Ladder

Bulldogs’ Brownlow history

Since the award's inception in 1924, the Bulldogs have won a total of 10 Brownlow Medals.

Since the award's inception in 1924, the Bulldogs have won a total of 10 Brownlow Medals.

In 1997, Bulldogs forward Chris Grant polled 27 Brownlow votes, one more than winner Robert Harvey (St Kilda), but was ineligible to win due to a one-match suspension for striking Hawthorn's Nick Holland. 

Ahead of tonight’s event, takes a look at the Bulldogs' history at the Brownlow Medal.


2008: Adam Cooney (Western Bulldogs)

Adam Cooney, the Bulldogs' No.1 selection in the 2003 NAB AFL National Draft, elevated his game to the highest level in 2008. Cooney polled 24 votes to pip Brisbane Lions favourite Simon Black (23) and claim 'Charlie'. It was a significant year for Cooney, who also made All Australian selection. His team also made the preliminary final, before falling to Geelong. Cooney's triumph meant it was the first time a No. 1 draft pick had won the award. He played 219 games for the Bulldogs between 2004-2014, before finishing his career at Essendon. 


1992: Scott Wynd (Footscray)

Scott Wynd dominated in 1992, with the Footscray ruckman polling 20 votes to take home the game's highest individual honour over Hawthorn's Jason Dunstall (18 votes) and Geelong's Ken Hinkley (17). That same year he also won the Charles Sutton Medal and was selected in the All Australian Team. Wynd played 237 games for Footscray and the Western Bulldogs between 1988-2000, captaining the Club for seven seasons between 1994-2000.


1990: Tony Liberatore (Footscray)

At just 163cm, midfielder Tony Liberatore was one of the shortest players to play the game at the highest level. He claimed the Brownlow Medal in 1990. Liberatore started his career at North Melbourne but failed to play a senior game. It prompted his move to Footscray in 1986, where he went on to play 283 career games.


1985: Brad Hardie (Footscray)

After 140 games for South Fremantle in the West Australian Football League, Brad Hardie transferred to the VFL to play for Footscray in 1985. He claimed the Brownlow Medal that same year, only the second player since Haydn Bunton Snr to win the award in his first VFL season. After winning the Charles Sutton Medal in 1986, he left the then Western Oval to join the Brisbane Bears for the 1987 season. Hardie played 47 matches for Footscray.


1980: Kelvin Templeton (Footscray)

Kelvin Templeton won Footscray's leading goalkicker (75 goals) award in 1980, a record he claimed on five occasions (1976-1980). He also was awarded a second Charles Sutton Medal (he won the other in 1978). Templeton moved to Melbourne Football Club in 1983.


1975: Gary Dempsey (Footscray)

While Gary Dempsey only took home one Brownlow in 1975, he finished in the top ten of the award between 1970-79. The ruckman, a former Footscray Captain, was the recipient of the Charles Sutton Medal on six occasions (1970, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977). He played 207 games for Footscray between 1967-1978 and went on to play a further 122 matches with North Melbourne between 1979-1984. 


1960: John Schultz (Footscray)

John Schultz was widely recognised by his fellow ruckmen as the most challenging and difficult opponent in the game. Voted Footscray's best and fairest player on five occasions, Schultz was Footscray through and through. Renowned as much for his fairness as for his brilliance, Schultz played 188 games at the Bulldogs between 1958 and 1968.


1956: Peter Box (Footscray)

In 1954, just his third season of football, Peter Box helped Footscray defeat Melbourne in the Grand Final to secure its first ever VFL flag. Box became the Club's third Brownlow Medallist in 1956, making him the only Bulldogs player to win a Brownlow and play in a premiership. Box played 107 games between 1951 and 1953-1957.


1941: Norman Ware (Footscray)

Ruckman Norman Ware captained Footscray in 1940 and was given the task of being captain-coach in 1941-42. In 1941, Ware made history by becoming the first, and only, playing coach to win the Brownlow Medal. Ware finished his career having played 200 games.


1930: Allan Hopkins (Footscray)

A brilliant centreman, Allan Hopkins was awarded the Brownlow Medal retrospectively in 1989 for the 1930 season. Hopkins began his career with Footscray before they joined the VFL in 1925. Hopkins had played in the club's 1923 and 1924 premiership sides in the VFA. He won the Bulldogs' best and fairest in 1931, playing 151 games for Footscray between 1925-1934.

Wood overcomes ‘challenging year’

Easton Wood considers himself fortunate to be preparing for another Grand Final next weekend.
Read now

Latest Videos

Latest Videos

More Video

Official Western Bulldogs App

The Western Bulldogs Official App is your one stop shop for all your latest team News, Videos, Player Profiles, Scores and Stats delivered LIVE to your smartphone or tablet!

Western Bulldogs acknowledge that we reside on traditional lands of the Kulin Nation. We offer our respect to the Elders of these traditional lands, and through them to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples past, present and emerging.