Western Bulldogs midfield duo Marcus Bontempelli and Jack Macrae have been named in the 2022 Therabody All Australian Squad.

The captain and vice-captain have had exceptional individual seasons, with the squad of 44 to be trimmed to a final team on Wednesday night.

Bontempelli is shooting for his fifth All Australian blazer, previously being selected in 2016, 2019, 2020 and 2021.

The 26-year-old has played 21 matches this season, averaging 23 touches, five clearances and a goal a game.

It could be a fourth consecutive honour for Macrae, being named in the team the past three seasons.

The 28-year-old ball magnet has played every game this home-and-away season, collecting 31 touches and seven clearances per fixture.

Macrae is rated elite amongst the competition for disposals and clearances.

Both players will be pivotal to the Bulldogs finals charge, as the team prepares to face Fremantle in Perth Saturday week.

The final team of 22, as per the criteria established in 2007, will be selected as if to play a match and will be named on Wednesday, 24 August, as part of the AFL Awards.

The 2022 All Australian selection panel is Gillon McLachlan (chairman), Jude Bolton, Nathan Buckley, Kane Cornes, Andrew Dillon, Glen Jakovich, Gerard Healy, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Nick Riewoldt and Brad Scott. Kevin Sheehan is also a selector for the NAB AFL Rising Star Award.