Ellie Blackburn, Isabel Huntington and Aisling McCarthy are the Western Bulldogs’ candidates for the 2020 AFLW Players’ Association’s Most Valuable Player Award.

The prestigious annual MVP award goes to the player adjudged to the be the best performed across the AFLW competition, according to her peers.

Blackburn, Huntington and McCarthy were among the most consistent contributors for the Bulldogs in the 2020 women’s season, which was ultimately cut short due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Huntington was also nominated for the Most Courageous Award, while Gabby Newton was nominated for Best First-Year Player.

Voting for the AFLW MVP, Most Courageous, Best First-Year Player and Best Captain awards is a two-stage process, with players nominating their teammates in stage one before selecting from a competition-wide field in stage two.

Players cannot vote for a player from their own club during stage two of the voting process.

The winners are expected to be announced next week, along with the finalisation of the AFLW 22Under22 team. 

Western Bulldogs AFLW MVP Awards nominees

MVP: Ellie Blackburn, Isabel Huntington, Aisling McCarthy
Most Courageous: Isabel Huntington
Best Captain: Ellie Blackburn (automatically nominated)
Best First-Year Player: Gabrielle Newton