The leading individual award in the game is the Brownlow Medal, which has been awarded since 1924 to the Fairest and Best player in the AFL competition each season -

Since the award's inception in 1924, Bulldogs players have won a total of 10 Brownlow Medals. This is the second equal-most winners by any club in V/AFL history, tied with St Kilda and trailing South Melbourne/Sydney's total of 14.



Total Votes

1930 Allan Hopkins*# 4^
1941 Norman Ware 23
1956 Peter Box 22
1960 John Schultz 20
1975 Gary Dempsey 20
1980 Kelvin Templeton 23
1985 Brad Hardie 22
1990 Tony Liberatore 18
1992 Scott Wynd 20
2008 Adam Cooney 24

*Joint winner with Harry Collier (Collingwood) and Stan Judkins (Richmond). This was the first time there were joint Brownlow Medal winners in the same season.

#This medal was awarded retrospectively, as the League did not previously acknowledge joint winners of the Brownlow Medal. A revision to the rules was introduced in 1980.

^Only one Brownlow vote per game was awarded in matches this season. The current six-vote system was introduced in the 1931 VFL Season.

Data correct to the end of the 2023 AFL Season.