The Western Bulldogs have today revealed their 2023 Indigenous guernsey, designed by proud Kerrup-Mara Gunditjmara and Yorta Yorta man Jason Walker.

For the first time in Club history, all four teams (AFL, AFLW, VFL and VFLW) will wear the design in respective rounds.

The design represents Mirring (country) on Gunditjmara, where the Bulldogs are affiliated with in south-west Victoria, and is inspired by the Lake Condah Possum Skin Cloak.

The etching designs on the cloak represent the Bulldogs’ staff, players and supporters connection to country and journey throughout life.

The front of the guernsey features an eel (kooyang) intertwined throughout the red, white and blue hoops, which represents many things for Gunditjmara people, including resilience, and is an important resource for food and trade.

The kooyang’s inclusion in the design also acknowledges the West-Vic Eels Aboriginal Football Club, where many Aboriginal and Gunditjmara families – including Jamarra Ugle-Hagan – have played in state-wide Aboriginal Football Carnivals.

(L-R standing): Arthur Jones, Naomi Ferres, Jamarra Ugle-Hagan, Liam Jones. (L-R floor): Cooper Craig-Peters, Pamela Amber, Tahlia Meier, Mel Freeman, Imahra Cameron.

The AFL team will be the first to wear the new design in next week’s Sir Doug Nicholls Round 10 match against Adelaide, and again the following week in round 11 against Gold Coast.

They will also wear the guernsey against Collingwood in round 17 during NAIDOC Week.

The VFL Bulldogs will wear it in their round 10 clash against Gold Coast and in round 16 against Collingwood for NAIDOC Week, while the VFLW side will wear it against Darebin in round 9 and Collingwood in round 10.

The AFLW team will wear it later this year in their respective Indigenous round, once the fixture for season eight is confirmed.

The 2023 Indigenous guernsey will be available for sale at the Bulldogs Shop, along with a range of exclusive merchandise including hoodies, t-shirts, wool scarves and badges. 

Bulldogs and their mobs


Jamarra Ugle-Hagan: Gunditjmara, Balardong Noongar and Whadjuk Noongar
Liam Jones: Kija
Arthur Jones: Yamatji and Menang Noongar


Naomi Ferres: Arrernte 


Cooper Craig-Peters: Yorta Yorta, Wadi Wadi, Ngurai Illum Wurrung, Dja Dja Wurrung, Yara Yara
Joel Garner: Mara
Josh Chatfield: Gunditjmara
Nathan Drummond: Yorta Yorta
Jarrod Gilbee: Bungandidj


Melanie Freeman: Wiradjuri
Imahra Cameron: Noongar from Ballargong and Whadjuk
Pamela Amber: Torres Strait Islander - Panaygal and Samu
Tahlia Meier: Wamba Wamba